Pařez, Jan


Pařez, Jan, and Hedvika Kuchařová, The Irish Franciscans in Prague 1629–1786, tr. Jana Stoddart and Michael Stoddart, revised, English ed., Prague: Karolinum Press, Charles University, 2015.

  • Book/Monograph
Citation details
The Irish Franciscans in Prague 1629–1786
Karolinum Press, Charles University
Abstract (cited)
At the end of the sixteenth century, Queen Elizabeth I forced the Irish Franciscans into exile. Of the four continental provinces to which the Irish Franciscans fled, the Prague Franciscan College of the Immaculate Conception of the Virgin Mary was the largest in its time. This monograph documents this intense point of contact between two small European lands, Ireland and Bohemia. The Irish exiles changed the course of Bohemian history in significant ways, both positive—the Irish students and teachers of medicine who contributed to Bohemia’s culture and sciences—and negative—the Irish officers who participated in the murder of Albrecht of Valdštejn and their successors who served in the Imperial forces. Dealing with a hitherto largely neglected theme, Parez and Kucharová attempt to place the Franciscan College within Bohemian history and to document the activities of its members. This wealth of historical material from the Czech archives, presented in English for the first time, will be of great aid for international researchers, particularly those interested in Bohemia or the Irish diaspora.
(source: publisher)
Related publications
First edition or printing
Pařez, Jan, and Hedvika Kuchařová, Hyberni v Praze / Éireannaigh i bPrág: dějiny františkánské koleje Neposkvrněného početí Panny Marie v Praze (1629–1786), Prague: Oswald, 2001.
Subjects and topics
History, society and culture
Franciscan friarsFranciscan friars
Franciscans, Franciscan Order, Grey Friars, Friars Minor, OFM
AAT: “Broad term for a Roman Catholic religious order comprising several divisions; founded by St. Francis of Assisi (1181-1226). The rule emphasizes the vow of poverty, theology, preaching, and aid to the poor and sick. Different schools of thought among followers developed over the years; St. Bonaventure (1257-1274) founded a moderate interpretation of St. Francis' rule that bridged many of the differences. The independent branches of the order are the First Order of Franciscans: the Observants, the Conventuals, and the Capuchins; the Second Order comprises nuns established by St. Clare under the guidance of St. Francis, known as the Poor Clares; and the Third Order comprising religious and lay men and women, including the Third Order Secular (living in the world without vows) and Third Order Regular (living in religious communities under vow).”
See more
Dennis Groenewegen
Page created
April 2015, last updated: July 2021