The seven Maines

  • Connacht
In the Ulster Cycle, the seven Maines (na secht Maine) are a collective designation for the seven, or eight, sons of Medb and Ailill, all of whom are named Maine: Maine Máithremail and Maine Aithremail, Maine Míngor and Maine Mórgor, Maine Andóe, Maine Milscothach and/or Maine Mó Epert, and Maine Conda(s)gaib/Cotagaib Uile.

See also: Ailill mac MátaAilill mac Máta
(time-frame ass. with Ulster Cycle)
king of Connacht, husband of Medb of Connacht
See more
ConnachtConnacht/Cúige Chonnacht
No short description available
See more
Maine MilscothachMaine Milscothach
(time-frame ass. with Ulster Cycle)
One of the seven Maines, sons of Ailill and Medb in the Ulster Cycle; or one of two or three different characters in the tale of Togail bruidne Da Derga.
See more
Medb ChrúachnaMedb of Crúachan
Medb of Crúachan, Medb Crúachna, Medb of Connacht
(time-frame ass. with Ulster Cycle)
Queen of the Connachta, co-ruler with her husband Ailill mac Máta, in the Ulster Cycle. She is said to have a daughter, Findabair, and seven sons known as the seven Maines. Her lover is Fergus mac Róich.
See more


Secondary sources (select)

Rhŷs, John, Lectures on the origin and growth of religion as illustrated by Celtic heathendom [The Hibbert Lectures 1886], 2nd ed., London, Edinburgh: Williams and Norgate, 1892.
Internet Archive: <link>
366–370 [‘IV. The culture hero’] In a discussion of the Irish reckoning of the noínden, suggests that na secht Maine represent the seven days of the week (sechtmain).
The following does not refer to the present page, but to the data record for the currently selected query subject. It is not yet accessible.
Dennis Groenewegen
Page created
September 2016, last updated: April 2021